Building debuginfo rpm packages

debuginfo rpm packages are very useful in the sense they provide debugging symbols for the programs you want to analyze. I found a quite bizarre bug on the virtualization rawhide packages, and wanted to get a stack trace to analyze, but didn’t have debuginfo packages readily available, so I learned to generate my own packages. As lazy as I am, this blog is my notebook for small things I know I will need again. So here are the steps:

* Install the package redhat-rpm-config
* Get the source rpm for the package you want to build stuff from
* install the source package
rpm -ivh foo.src.rpm
* Go to root’s rpmbuild directory
* build the spec using

rpmbuild -ba foo.spec

It’s done 🙂

More small recipes will follow!

One thought on “Building debuginfo rpm packages

Leave a Reply

